Bank Holidays

A list of all public holidays in France.

Date Day United Kingdom France
April 9 Monday Easter Monday Pâques
May 1 Tuesday Labour Day/May Day Fête du premier mai
May 8 Tuesday Victory Day 1945 Fête de la Victoire 1945
May 17 Thursday Ascension l’Ascencion
May 28 Monday Whit Monday
July 14 Saturday Bastille Day Fête National
August 15 Wednesday Assumption Assomption
November 1 Thursday All Saints Day La Toussaint
November 11 Sunday VD Day (Armistice) Jour d’armistice
December 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Noël
December 26 Wednesday Boxing Day
December 31 Tuesday New Years Eve
January 1 Wednesday New Years Day

Please note that most shops and hypermarkets are closed on Sundays apart from Boulangeries (bakeries) which generally stay open until noon.